Skillet Gnocchi…

I love gnocchi! But, I usually only have it when I’m out at a restaurant, and really not all that often. My favorite Gnocchi dish from years and years back was from this near-my-hometown restaurant, Sesame Seed. That was pretty much my faithful entree whenever I went there. Recently, I came across this recipe, which sounds good in and of itself, but I ended up adapting it more toward our tastes… Oh, and I’m glad I at least got the above pic before my battery went dead.

I had tried Vigo’s Gnocchi at one time in the past, but it came out terribly mushy. I must have boiled it too long, or something… Several years later is probably a good time to try again. This time, I boiled the Gnocchi first for about 4 minutes. Then, I drained it well and put it in a saute pan with some Olive Oil. I further cooked it this way for about 10 minutes, and this added a delightful brown and slight crisp to them!

At the same time, I cooked up some Chopped Onion, Minced Garlic and Sliced Mushrooms. To that mix, I then added some Baby Spinach and Diced Tomatoes. Once that was all simmering, I added the Gnocchi, a sprinkling of Parmesan Cheese, and a handful of Shredded Mozzarella Cheese. Once the cheese had melted, it was time to eat! Quite frankly, delightful would be a perfect descriptor for this dish It was warm and hearty, fun and flavorful! The lunchtime leftovers today were just as good, too. I’ll definitely be playing around in the kitchen with gnocchi more frequently. I’d really like to make my own one of these days… Sounds like a good idea for a snowy winter’s day. đŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Food, Pics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

