Bean and Buffalo Chicken Salad…

Well, we made our own baked buffalo chicken strips / breasts a few days back, and they came out quite good! I like knowing exactly what ingredients are in there (I found a non-MSG wing sauce with relatively few ingredients to it), so we’ll definitely be making variations of this buffalo chicken again. However, we did have a goodly amount of leftover chicken. I have a bean salad of sorts that I like to make, so it was decided that the buffalo chicken would be added to that. Definitely tasty!

Dressing:  Whisk together 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice, 1/3 cup of olive oil, 1/4 tsp of salt and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes.

Salad Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained well
  • Leftover buffalo chicken, cubed
  • 3 tomatoes, cubed
  • 1 bunch or slightly less of green onions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 8 oz or so smoked gouda cheese, cubed

Mix all the salad ingredients together. Drizzle the dressing over top and mix until all combined.  C’est tous!  Normally, I would add some brown rice into the mix, but I didn’t here, just due to the time. Also, I just realized that I usually also add a small can of chopped green chilies to this salad… However, with the tang of the buffalo chicken in this batch, I really didn’t need to add the green chilies anyway. Without the chicken, I would have added another can of some variety of beans. This dish is good cold in the summer, or slightly warmed so the cheese softened just a bit.  Mr. BFF says that’s it’s also very good as a filling in a wrap for lunch!  I would imagine that he is quite correct.  🙂

This entry was posted in Food, Pics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

