Dinner with Garden Goodies, and Feta…

I’m so pleased… This was our first dinner with garden ingredients as the main ingredients. Previously, I’ve used garden goodies in salads, on a sandwich or as accents (herbs, green onions and such). Tonight, I made a linguine dish featuring zucchini and tomatoes (cherries and one ‘regular’ one), accented with oregano. All of that came from the garden (except for the linguine, of course). I also added some non-garden onion and garlic to the mix, but I do have onions and garlic to pull from the garden this weekend. Then, they have to cure, so it’ll be a few weeks til I can use them. But still, I love being able to go out there and grab some stuff for the night’s dinner. And being that this is my first year with the garden experiment, I am quite tickled about it. Oh, and feta… gotta add some cheese to the pasta meal, but I’m not growing any of that. šŸ˜‰

There’s going to be a shitload of zucchini soon (when isn’t there?), so I’ve got zucchini bread on the list for this weekend. I’m also figuring on a zucchini gratin for some sides next week. The cucumbers will be abundant, and I’m hoping they’ll coincide nicely with the ripening tomatoes. There’s quite an amount of those, too. Broccoli is kind of finishing up; not sure how the cauliflower will do; there’s one potential eggplant out there; and I think we will get some peppers after all (though not a lot). Perhaps there will be one potato or so; we’ve been using some of the chives now and again; the basil is doing well and there’s already been a batch of pesto; and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for some good asparagus next year. And so goes the continuing saga of the garden… I’m having fun, and that’s what counts. šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Pics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

