Garden Zucchinis…

Well, this is what I found in the garden Friday evening. On Sunday, I made 4 loaves of zucchini bread, and then I put 3 cups of grated zucchini in the freezer for later baking. And that was just from the one super-huge zucchini. The other one is still sitting on the counter… I do have a zucchini gratin recipe that I’m planning on making this week.

Two loaves of Zucchini Bread were based on the first recipe from Simply Recipes. I made one loaf plain and the other with walnuts. For the second batch, I made a Zucchini Onion Asiago Bread, based in large part on a helpful comment in ‘Cheers and Jeers’ and attributed to A Midwest Gardener’s Cookbook, by Marian Towne, Indiana University Press, Bloomington, IN. I figured I had to try it because it was from Indiana, and I must say, it’s an absolutely delicious bread! Savory is the word I use to describe it. It’s a wonderful dinner bread or good on its own… Not the traditional sweet zucchini bread that one might think of, but extremely moist and flavorful all the same. Actually, it’s my favorite of the two batches that I made this weekend. 🙂

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, Pics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

