I Am a Reader…

I am a reader… Always have been, always will be. The past few years, however, the majority of my reading has been on a non-book scale. I’d read blogs and websites (duh!), articles and magazines, but not too often actual books. Every now and then, I’d pick up a book, but not frequently.

Recently, I just finished re-reading ‘Good Benito’ by Alan Lightman. A small book, but I do much enjoy the author’s style and insights. His style is poetic and graceful. His insights find expression through both the rational and the mathematical, yet also through the emotional and spiritual. My absolute favorite of Lightman’s work (and one of my all-time favorite books, period) is ‘Einstein’s Dreams’. That one is a melodic narrative, weaving dreams and visions of time as a young Einstein may have imagined. I’ve read this book several times, and I will continue to do so.

Anyway, I was pleased to have finished a book this year. It had been awhile. Now, I am reading George R.R. Martin’s ‘A Game of Thrones: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book One’. I am enthralled with it. Keep in mind, I have never really been one for fantasy novels, much to my father’s dismay. I have tried to read ‘The Hobbit’, ‘The Lord of the Rings’, etc., but just could not even get started with them. But this book is captivating me. Each chapter is written from the perspective of one character, and I am enjoying the overlap and differing perspectives that way. I’m excited, truly excited, to keep reading (even though I usually only ready in short spurts of time). If it was a snowy day with nothing to do, I’d be snuggled on the couch plowing through this book. However, it’s spring with sunshine and yardwork and lots going on, but I am still finding time to get through at least a chapter a day or so.

Granted, I do watch the series on TV, but I think that actually helps me here (as much as I hate seeing a movie before reading the book). With the volume of characters, it helps me to be somewhat familiar with the myriad of names and histories within the story. I think with some other fantasy books, I’ve had a hard time simply keeping track of who is who. Being that I watch the show, I have a better handle of the ‘who is who’ part, though it does detract from the imaginative part of reading a bit.

Anyway, again, I’m basically thrilled to be caught up in a book, again. 🙂

This entry was posted in Musings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

